What Are The 4 Stages Of the Menstrual Cycle?

What Are The 4 Stages Of the Menstrual Cycle?
0 29 March 2023
What Are The 4 Stages Of the Menstrual Cycle?

A woman’s body undergoes a monthly hormonal process known as the Menstrual Cycle, which readies it for the potential of pregnancy. The duration of the cycle varies from one woman to another but typically lasts between 28-32 days. According to the top 10 gynecologists in Mumbai, the Menstrual Cycle consists of four distinct phases, each with its specific characteristics and alterations.

Stage 1: Menstrual Phase

The first stage of the Menstrual Cycle is called the menstrual phase. This phase starts the Menstrual Cycle and lasts between three to seven days. The menstrual phase is characterized by the shedding of the endometrial lining, which lines the uterus, resulting in menstrual bleeding.

Low levels of estrogen and progesterone hormones are present in the body during this phase. These hormones regulate the menstrual cycle, and when their levels decrease, the body sheds the endometrial lining. As the lining sheds, it exits the body through the cervix and vagina, which causes menstrual bleeding.

Stage 2: Follicular Phase

The second of the four stages of the menstrual cycle,  the follicular phase is the second stage that occurs after the menstrual phase ends. This phase usually lasts for around 10-14 days and is marked by a surge in estrogen levels in the body.

Each follicle contains an immature egg, and as they grow, they start to produce estrogen. The increase in estrogen levels signals the uterus to thicken the endometrial lining, preparing for a possible pregnancy. Any problems that one faces in this stage should be checked by the gynecologist in Mumbai immediately!!

Stage 3: Ovulation Phase

In the Menstrual Cycle, the ovulation phase is the third stage, and it involves the release of an egg from the ovary. The ovulation phase takes place around day 14 of the Menstrual Cycle and lasts for about 24-48 hours.

During ovulation, there is an increase in the levels of luteinizing hormone (LH) in the body, which causes the mature follicle to rupture and release the egg. The egg then makes its way through the fallopian tube toward the uterus. This phase is the most fertile time of the Menstrual Cycle, and if sperm is present, it can fertilize the egg, which can lead to pregnancy.

Stage 4: Luteal Phase

The luteal phase is the last stage of the Menstrual Cycle that starts after ovulation. It typically lasts for 10-14 days and is characterized by an increase in progesterone levels in the body. Once the egg is released from the ovary, the empty follicle turns into the corpus luteum. This structure produces progesterone that helps maintain the endometrial lining in the uterus.

If fertilization does not occur, the corpus luteum will eventually break down, resulting in a drop in the levels of estrogen and progesterone in the body. This decrease in hormone levels signals the start of shedding of the endometrial lining, which initiates a new Menstrual Cycle.

If you’re looking for expert guidance on managing your Menstrual Cycle or any other women’s health concerns, it is highly recommended to schedule an appointment with Dr Neelima Mantri, a well-known best female gynecologist in Mumbai. Taking charge of your reproductive health is crucial, and seeking the right medical advice can help you make informed decisions.

Dr. Neelima Unavailable

Dr Neelima Unavailable from June 6 to 16

This will close in 20 seconds